Kosher Gelatin

Kosher Gelatin: Benefits, Uses, and Where to Buy It

Gelatin is a protein widely used in foods, pharmaceuticals, and cosmetic products. It’s a translucent, colorless, and flavorless ingredient, often derived from collagen, which is taken from animal body parts. Gelatin often contains the hides and bones of animals, which are boiled, dried, and filtered.

We can find gelatin in many everyday products, from foods to glues and photographic processes. It’s highly beneficial due to its collagen content, which positively impacts your muscles, joints, tendons, and skin.

Gelatin can be derived from different animals, including pigs, cows, and fish. Vegan versions are also available, and they are mostly made from seaweed (agar-agar). This article will focus on kosher gelatin, its content, benefits, and uses.

What is Kosher Gelatin?

Kosher gelatin is a form of gelatin made from kosher animal sources. According to Jewish law, kosher products must follow the strict guidelines that allow or forbid certain foods' consumption.

A product is considered kosher when it comes from ruminant animals, such as sheep, cows, goats, lambs, etc. Besides, an animal must be slaughtered by a person trained to butcher animals following the Jewish laws – a shochet.

Therefore, kosher gelatin is the one made according to kosher guidelines. Most products are derived from bovine sources or certain types of fish. Gelatin products that contain pig are not considered kosher.

What is Kosher Gelatin Made Of?

Kosher gelatin is often derived from beef or kosher fish. You are more likely to find bovine gelatin on the market since kosher fish skins tend to be more expensive, and thus the product comes with a hefty price tag.
what is kosher gelatin

How is Kosher Gelatin Powder Used?

Gelatin is widely used in the food industry. It is a vital component of many types of candies, including gummy bears, marshmallows, and similar jelly products. It is quite a versatile ingredient that you can use in everyday cooking to make delicious and collagen-rich desserts.

Kosher rules can be very strict when it comes to combining certain foods – for example, you’re not allowed to eat dairy products (milk or yogurt) with meat. This can become an issue for products that require beef gelatin in order to get the right structure (yogurt, for example), especially when an adequate alternative doesn’t exist.

However, many kosher certification agencies certify certain types of beef gelatin despite the strict laws regarding the segregation of meat and dairy. Namely, these products are made from the skins of kosher slaughtered cows, and the processing of these hides makes them entirely pareve (free of meat and milk). That way, beef gelatin can be used in dishes that contain dairy.

Benefits of Using Kosher Beef Gelatin

Gelatin has many significant health benefits. It is incredibly rich in protein and amino acids, essential for muscle strength, joints, tendons, and connective tissue in general. Regular gelatin consumption can help with arthritis while reducing the discomfort in cartilage and bones, improving brain function, slowing down signs of aging, and improving the firmness and the texture of our skin.

Thanks to its high levels of amino acids and collagen, it is safe to consume gelatin on a daily basis. It is vital to know that gelatin is not vegetarian and vegan-friendly, which is why you should go for seaweed or plan-based products if you abide by meat-free rules.

Where to Buy Kosher Gelatin?

Gelatin-based products you can buy at the supermarket (Jell-O, for example) may contain artificial flavors, sugars or sweeteners, which decrease their overall nutritional value. Therefore, the best way to experience all the benefits of gelatin is to include it into the foods and beverages by yourself, without adding substances that might reduce its effectiveness.

Kosher unflavored gelatin from Hearthy Foods is an excellent dietary supplement you should incorporate into your diet. It is made with 100% bovine (beef skin and bones), and it is pure protein entirely safe to consume. This is a nutrient-dense and sugar-free type 2 kosher gelatin powder that you can use to make puddings, custards, mousse, jelly, gummies, protein bars, and an array of desserts you can enjoy with peace of mind.

Hearthy Foods kosher gelatin is also halal-certified, which means that it follows Islamic law and has no traces of pig-based ingredients.

How to Use Hearthy Kosher Gelatin Powder?

You can use the Hearthy kosher gelatin to make a wide variety of desserts and beverages. Note that gelatin will clump if you add it directly to hot liquids, so follow these steps to avoid it:

•    Sprinkle the powdered gelatin into a cold liquid and let it sit for 3 to 5 minutes. The ratio you should follow is ¼ cup liquid for every ¼ oz gelatin powder.
•    Add it to hot liquid.
•    Stir until dissolved completely.

Our kosher gelatin is flavorless, which makes it versatile and suitable for adding it to different recipes. It can create tasty and nutritious snacks and formulas beneficial for hair, nails, skin, and teeth health.

Here are some excellent ideas for using Hearthy kosher gelatin:

•    Coffee and tea: You can add kosher gelatin to your morning cup of coffee or tea. Do it according to the previously mentioned guidelines to prevent the gelatin from clumping in the hot liquid.
•    Smoothies: Smoothies are yummy and healthy, which is why you’re encouraged to take them regularly. Use spinach, kale, and green apple to make a green smoothie, and enrich it with Hearthy gelatin to get a vitamin bomb.
•    Egg substitute: Gelatin can be an excellent substitute for eggs in baked goods as it makes them soft and moist.
•    Stews and gravies: You can add gelatin to soups, stews, and gravies to thicken them.
•    Bone broth: By adding gelatin to your bone broth, you’ll not only add thickness to it but make it healthier and higher in amino acids.

Gelatin Kosher Recipes for Healthy and Tasty Desserts

Eating healthily is easier when you have the right ingredients that inspire you to change your lifestyle habits and take your baking skills to the next level. By adding a Hearthy Grass-Fed Gelatin to your favorite recipes, you get a potent formula that improves your gut, skin, hair, muscles, and bones.

Let’s take a look at the inspiring recipe where you can use our kosher-certified gelatin and enjoy protein-rich sweets.

Ingredients:
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 2 ½ cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1 tbsp Hearthy Grass-Fed Gelatin
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp orange zest
  • ½ tbsp vanilla flavoring
Berry sauce:
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries (you can use raspberries, blackberries, or strawberries instead)
  • 1 tbsp fresh-squeezed orange juice
  • 1 tbsp orange zest
  • 1 tbsp sugar
is gelatin kosher
Instructions:
Step 1:

Mix the milk with the gelatin and stir together until gelatin is entirely dissolved and set aside.

Step 2:
In a small pot, add the heavy cream and sugar. Mix them until the sugar is dissolved over medium heat on the stovetop. Stir until the cream starts to boil and rise to the top of the pot.

Step 3:
Add in the solidified gelatin mixture. Stir it into the creamy mixture and make sure it is all dissolved. Keep stirring for about 2 minutes.

Step 4:
Take the pot off the stove and put it on the countertop. Add in vanilla flavoring and orange zest and mix that.

Step 5:
Let the mixture cool until it reaches room temperature. In the meantime, you can prepare the serving dishes in which you’d like to serve your dessert – glass cups, mason jars, etc.

Step 6:
Pour the mixture into the desired dish. Cover it with a plastic wrap and place it in the fridge for at least 4 hours to set. In the meantime, make a berry sauce.

kosher gelatin
what is kosher gelatin made of
Berry sauce for gelatin kosher
kosher gelatin powder
Instructions (Berry sauce)

To make a berry sauce, all you need to do is mix together all the ingredients in a pot. Cook them on medium heat for a few minutes until the berries begin to burst. Set aside to cool.

Final steps

Once you’ve finished the berry sauce and your dish has been in the fridge long enough, you can assembly the panna cotta and serve it.

Check out our blog to find more kosher-inspired recipes you’ll love for sure!

The Best-in-Class Kosher Gelatin – Hearthy Foods

A Hearthy Grass-Fed Kosher Gelatin is a 100% natural dietary supplement made according to the kosher guidelines. It is entirely free of flavors, sugar, GMO elements, and gluten. Besides, it is a paleo-friendly product with many significant health benefits to your muscles, joints, tendons, skin, hair, and teeth.

All the products developed by Hearthy Foods are halal and kosher-certified and suitable for keto, paleo, and gluten-free diets. You can buy our products on the official website, or find us at the nearest store.

Your Cart

Your cart is currently empty. Click here to continue shopping.