BIGGEST SALE OF THE YEAR - BLACK FRIDAY CYBER MONDAY SPECIAL STARTS THURSDAY MORNING BUY ONE, GET SECOND 50% OFF.

What Is Halal Gelatin - Top Benefits of Gelatin And How To Use It

What Is Halal Gelatin - Top Benefits of Gelatin And How To Use It

Have you ever heard of or used halal gelatin before? It is a very specific type of gelatin that is used by people today. Gelatin is a substance that is obtained by processing collagen extracted from animals. It is a unique substance that is consumable and easily absorbed by the body. In certain religions, standard gelatin is not allowed because of how it is prepared. If you are of the Islamic faith, and you abide by Islamic law, halal gelatin is allowed. Here are the benefits of gelatin, how halal gelatin can be used, and why you may want to consider using it instead of standard gelatin. 

What Is Gelatin And How Is It Prepared?

Gelatin is a unique substance that is literally flavorless, colorless, and translucent. When it is made, it is extracted from different animal body parts. In its dry form, it tends to be extremely brittle. However, when water is added, it has a very gummy texture. Gelatin is used in a number of different ways around the world. One such use is capsules for holding pharmaceutical  medications. People that produce vitamins or supplements also use this material. It can also be found in the cosmetic industry and the development of photographic film. It is made by simply boiling the bones, ligaments, tendons, and the skin of animals. In most cases, the body parts of pigs and cows are used together. However, in the religion of Islam, this is not permissible.

 benefits of gelatin

What Is Halal Gelatin

The word halal simply means permissible. In regard to halal gelatin, this means that the gelatin was produced without any pig based products. In the Islamic religion, this is a non-favorable animal. Therefore, any consumable products made with pigs of any type are frowned upon. There is another word called haram which means forbidden or unacceptable. This would refer to gelatin that was derived, even in a small way, from the remains of pigs. In fact, if gelatin is produced with pig remains, it is simply regarded as not gelatin. Finally, the animal from which the gelatin is produced must be derived from a slaughtering process that is in line with Islamic law.

What Are The Benefits Of Consuming Gelatin?

Gelatin has long been known to provide many health benefits. Part of that reason includes the amino acids that are part of its profile. It is very rich in protein, and it has been shown to help people who suffer from conditions like arthritis. It can reduce the discomfort experienced when the cartilage between bones is no longer there. Some studies have shown that the regular intake of gelatin can improve brain function. Additionally, it can also help slow down signs of aging. Collagen is a major component of the outer layer of our skin. The more that we have of it in our body, the more likely it is that it will help improve the firmness and texture of our skin.

 gelatin promotes skin health

 Can You Eat Gelatin Every Day?

One of the more popular treats in North America is Jell-O. It is a substance that is almost purely gelatin-based. The only people that may not consume Jell-O would include those that would see it as haram gelatin or those that follow a very strict vegan or vegetarian diet. There are actually forms of Jell-O that utilize seaweed or plant-based gums instead of the cartilage of animals. In regard to eating it every day, because it does provide amino acids and collagen, it is safe to consume daily in moderation. In fact, vegetarian gelatin is often consumed by those of the Islamic faith because it is a safe way to avoid pig derived gelatin.

How Can You Know That You Are Using Halal Gelatin

If an Islamic person does not have time to prepare gelatin that is devoid of pig remains, they may use vegetarian gelatin. Since it is not using any form of animal product, it will not originate from a pig, and therefore falls in line with Islamic preferences to avoid any pig based product. This type of gelatin can be used to make all kinds of desserts such as candy, pudding, chocolate, and cakes that use gelatin in the mixture. Even cheesecakes and different types of ice cream will use this plant-derived gelatin which is permissible in the Islamic community.

 halal certified

Are There Companies That Specifically Produce Halal Gelatin?

Due to the popularity, demand and health benefits of halal gelatin, there are now businesses that specifically produce halal gelatin. Halal gelatin can be purchased in some stores and ordered online through companies like Hearthy Foods. The gelatin that is produced by Hearthy Foods is 100% bovine,is pure protein, and is certified halal.  It should be noted that if you are looking for halal gelatin, be sure to check the company is providing certified halal gelatin. 

Halal Gelatin Panna Cotta

There are many dishes that you can make using halal gelatin. In this article we will talk about one of my favorite desserts called Panna Cotta! 

Panna Cotta Ingredients

⅓ cup of skim milk

¼ ounce of halal gelatin

2 ½ cups of heavy whipping cream

½ cup of white sugar

1 ½ teaspoons of vanilla extract

Directions to make Panna Cotta

  1. In a small bowl, pour milk and gelatin powder and stir until thoroughly combined
  2. In a medium sized saucepan, on medium heat, stir in the heavy whipping cream and sugar.  Continue to stir the cream and sugar so that it does ot scorch.  
  3. Once the cream and sugar come to a boil, stir in the skim milk and halal gelatin mixture and stir together until completely dissolved.
  4.  Cook the mixture for 60 seconds, be sure to stir constantly.  Remove the mixture from the stove and pour in the vanilla extract and stir to incorporate.
  5. Pour the mixture into six ramekin dishes and let the mixture cool uncovered at room temperature.  Once cool, cover the ramekins with plastic wrap and refrigerate for a minimum of 4 hours or overnight.  
  6. Serve and enjoy!

 panna cotta made with halal gelatin

If you have never tried this type of gelatin, give it a try!  Hearthy Foods certified Halal Gelatin.  It is full of nutrients and is sugar free.  There are so many benefits of gelatin such as it is an excellent source of protein, helps to improve skin, hair and nail health, as well as helps with the improvement of joint health. 

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Your Cart

Your cart is currently empty. Click here to continue shopping.